Mercy – It’s Not Fair! – Day 3.1

I often tell people, “If you see any mercy in me, you’re seeing Jesus.”  It’s not that I can’t be generous and sometimes compassionate for people who have encountered difficulties in life.

My problem was with people who were always “shooting themselves in the foot” – making poor choices – using bad judgement – taking the easy way out instead of hanging in for the long hall.  I figured that if they were not going to work at getting an education or a good career, were going to mess around with illegal drugs, drink large amounts of alcohol, not take care of their body – yada , yada – then they got what they deserved.  So why should I sacrifice for them?

Not too merciful – pretty Pharisaic!  That was before I found myself divorced and wondering what next?  By my standards of mercy, I was done as a pastor. I had messed up big time by contributing to the death of my marriage with sins of commission and sins of omission.  It was then that I began to experience God’s mercy and grace that I had only talked about before.

Previous to that I probably believed that God was sure privileged to have me on his side.  Now I was glad to have the Holy Spirit and the Body of Christ by my side to help heal and restore me! Before I had sided with the older brother in the parable of the prodigal son (Luke 15); but now I could identify with the son coming home with hat in hand.

So my perspective on mercy changed – drastically!  It’s not a spiritual gift that I’ve been given.  It’s an everyday challenge to obey Jesus’ command:  “Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.” (Luke 6:36 – NIV).  By the way – this command is second person plural – “You all be merciful …”  “Youse guys be merciful …”  As I am empowered by the Holy Spirit and surrounded by people of mercy, I am able to be merciful. Thank you, if you are one of those people who have shown me mercy over the years …

Now from my confession to Brandon Hatmaker’s blog …

http://barefootprimer.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/loving-mercy-week-3-day-1/

Leave a Reply

