Knowing what we already have

For months I have been complaining that I didn’t have any jeans that I liked to wear; so I kept wearing the same threadbare jeans. They were comfortable; but the more that I wore them the worse they looked. Fortunately, they’re in fashion with some crowds. One pair I wore only for yard work, and Bev warned me  that one day I was going to out in the yard, and they were just going to fall apart. I’d embarrass myself and the neighbors!

As I was getting ready for our trip south, I was going through my closet and found two pair of jeans that I had purchased sometime in the past… probably at an outlet store at the end of a season. They were brand new!  I had just stuck them in the closet and promptly forgot about them … probably pulled out my corduroys for last winter.  Who knows?

The point is that I was complaining about not having something that I already had in my possession but had not appropriated it for my daily use.  This reminded me of how I am sometimes in my spiritual life. Paul makes this statement in Ephesians 1:

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ.  (Ephesians 1:3 – NIV).

Did you catch that? … every spiritual blessing!  Unfortunately, sometimes I’m complaining about not having blessings when all I have to do is to put a little effort into finding them in Jesus!  We need to know Him better, and grow up to use the blessings He’s already given to us.  In case we have forgotten, Paul goes on to remind us about some of them …

4 For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love 5 he predestined us to be adopted as his sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will— 6 to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves. 7 In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace 8 that he lavished on us with all wisdom and understanding. 9 And he made known to us the mystery of his will according to his good pleasure, which he purposed in Christ, 10 to be put into effect when the times will have reached their fulfillment — to bring all things in heaven and on earth together under one head, even Christ. (Ephsians 1:4-10 – NIV)

I’ll stop with verse 10; but you can go on to read more of the blessings that God has already placed in your spiritual inheritance if you’re a follower of Jesus.  Perhaps it’s time we start using what God has already provided in Jesus and complain less about how we wish things were.

Leave a Reply

