The way to eternal life

Last week we went to San Diego for Bev’s birthday. Besides walking near the Pacific Ocean and walking in one of our favorite parks on Mission Bay, we went to see the King Tut Exhibit at the San Diego Museum of Natural History.  It is a a life size reproduction of the way it was found undisturbed by grave robbers.  Here’s a Youtube video describing the exhibit …

Obviously, the young Pharaoh and many other  Egyptians were interested in eternal life. They had devised intricate methods of embalming, and other magical spells to assure that they would enjoy eternal life. 

However, the gods that the early Egyptians worshiped were man-made idols and did not have the power to convey that eternal life. Yahweh, the eternally living God had that power, and He sent His son, Jesus, that we might share in that life.  John’s Gospel contains a lot of the words of Jesus about this life.  Here are some of them …

“My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. I and the Father are one.”  (John 10:27-30 – NIV)

Jesus said to her [Martha], “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; and whoever lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?”

“Yes, Lord,” she told him, “I believe that you are the Christ, the Son of God, who was to come into the world.”  (John 11:25-27 – NIV)

After Jesus said this, he looked toward heaven and prayed:
“Father, the time has come. Glorify your Son, that your Son may glorify you. 2 For you granted him authority over all people that he might give eternal life to all those you have given him. 3 Now this is eternal life: that they may know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent…” (John 17:1-4 – NIV)

The. King Tut exhibit shows how one powerful person tried to have eternal life. The Bible shares through the words of Jesus how we can all share that eternal life. Have you considered His words and applied them to your life?

One thought on “The way to eternal life

Leave a Reply

