Questions Jesus Asked # 5

Matthew 6:27 –  Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?  NIV

The literal translation of this verse is “can add a single cubit (18 inches) to his height?”  Either way, the answer seems to be that none of us can add to our height or add to our life by worry. I think that there have been studies that have shown constant that anxiety tends to shorten our lives.

The KJV translates “worrying” as “taking thought,” which can be confusing. Does this mean that we are not to think about anything?  Does this me that God does not want us to consider the consequences of our actions? I don’t believe so.  I think that this “taking thought” is excessive pondering over something, possibly always expecting the worst outcome of a situation or worst possible scenario.

The way I tend to deal with something that is bothering me is to do what I can a track down. I track down what specifically is bothering me, and then I ask myself some questions: Is there anything that I can or need to do about this situation? If there is, then what is my first step?  If there isn’t anything I can do about the situation, then I need to take it to God and give it to Him. That does not preclude my taking it to Him if there is something I can do about it. One of my favorite messages on this passage was “Why Pray When You Can Take Pills and Worry?”

Some people seem to think that it I their role in life to worry about their problems and everyone problems that they know; but I can’t live well like that. There are many things in this life over which we have no control. And worrying about them will certainly not add to the length or quality of our life.  It doesn’t mean that we are not to be concerned about doing what is right; but many times there is nothing we can do ourselves. We need to put ourselves into God’s hands and trust Him.

Leave a Reply

