Questions Jesus Asked #18

Matthew 12:48-50 – He replied to him, “Who is my mother, and who are my brothers?”  49 Pointing to his disciples, he said, “Here are my mother and my brothers. 50 For whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother.”  NIV

Jesus had spent a long day arguing with the Pharisees and ministering to individuals and the crowd. Evidently, by this time he was inside a house with a crowd gathered both inside and out. His mother and brothers were standing outside the house wanting to talk with Him. Someone informed Him of that fact to which He replied with the above question.

I believe that Jesus’ point in the question clarified by the statements that follow indicate that membership in the family of God is not defined by our physical birth but by our spiritual birth. He meant no disrespect to his physical mother and brothers; but He wanted the crowd to realize that the Family of God or the Kingdom of God is not defined by our physical birth but by our decision to follow Jesus … just as those first disciples had done. They had chosen to follow Jesus and were in the process of learning to discern and do His will.

Some things to consider: When it comes to relating to Jesus, am I relying on my birth family’s history or my personal history with Jesus?  What will help me deepen my relationship? How can I invite others (using words and/or deeds) to enter into that relationship?

Leave a Reply

