Questions Jesus Asked #37

Matthew 20:29-33 – As Jesus and his disciples were leaving Jericho, a large crowd followed him. 30 Two blind men were sitting by the roadside, and when they heard that Jesus was going by, they shouted, “Lord, Son of David, have mercy on us!” 31 The crowd rebuked them and told them to be quiet, but they shouted all the louder, “Lord, Son of David, have mercy on us!”

            32 Jesus stopped and called them. “What do you want me to do for you?” he asked.

            33 “Lord,” they answered, “we want our sight.”  NIV

 

The two blind men on the road outside of Jericho shouted and got Jesus’ attention. They asked Jesus, “Lord, Son of David, have mercy on us!”  Their shout seemed to recognize Jesus as the promised Messiah.

 

Then Jesus asked them directly, “What do you want me to do for you?” There wasn’t any doubted in their minds about what they wanted. They wanted to see!  They had a need that was obvious.

 

Often in our pain and misery we cry out to the Lord, “Lord, help us! Have mercy on us!” And when Jesus asks us that same question, we may or may not have an instant answer. Some of the causes of our pain and/or problems are apparent. We know how to respond to this question.  However, in my life there have been times when it was difficult to answer that question with a specific request. The source of my pain and/or problems may have been a combination of things including myself, others, and environmental situations. At times I could not identify the source at first.

 

This question of Jesus pushes us to seek to identify the source of our pain/problems and to then ask for specific help in those areas.  I have found that when I can identify the problem, then I can address it as I am able and turn the rest over to God for His help either to “fix” the situation or to give me the strength and discernment to navigate the situation.  It doesn’t always mean that I escape the pain of the situation; but I know that the Holy Spirit is there with me.

 

Currently, I’m writing these “devotional notes or insights” as part of my daily time with God. I’m in a journaling mode. At the end of my time, there is a plea: “God, I need to see Your intervening in my world by …”  Then I share with God the things I want Him to do for me, those I love, or the world around me.  It many times amazes me when I next come back to the journal and respond to this statement, “God, I saw Your work in my everyday world when …”  He wants us to ask. He wants us to be specific. He wants us to look deep within ourselves so that we will grow to be more like Jesus in our journey into eternity.

Leave a Reply

