Questions Jesus Asked #51

Matthew 25:26-27 – “His master replied, ‘You wicked, lazy servant! So you knew that I harvest where I have not sown and gather where I have not scattered seed? 27 Well then, you should have put my money on deposit with the bankers, so that when I returned I would have received it back with interest.”  NIV

This is indeed an interesting question contained in the Parable of the Talents.  Jesus is speaking through the “Master” in the parable to a servant who chose to do nothing with what the Master had entrusted to him. When called to give an account of his “stewardship” or management of what he had been entrusted, the servant blamed his lack of good management on the Master with these words:

“Then the man who had received the one talent came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘I knew that you are a hard man, harvesting where you have not sown and gathering where you have not scattered seed. 25 So I was afraid and went out and hid your talent in the ground. See, here is what belongs to you.'”  (Matthew 25:24-25 – NIV)

His argument was that he was afraid of his Master and the accounting that he would have to give, so he did nothing.  The Master used his words against him in the question he asked. I think that the emphasis in the question should be on the word knew.  I think that the Master questioned that the servant even had an idea of what his Master wanted. If the servant really knew that the Master was such a hard man why didn’t he do something with the money?  He could have just put it in the bank to draw interest.

I see this parable as an example of our lives. God (the Master) entrusts to each of us certain resources. They are given to us for our blessing, the blessing of others, and ultimately to bring glory back to God, the giver of those resources. To not develop those God-given resources significantly lessens what God wants to do in and through our life. Salvation is just the beginning of those resources. Jesus died on the cross for our sins, and defeated death with His resurrection that all who believe in Him and follow Him would have eternal life.  Some people don’t even accept this gift by faith.  They just leave it untouched, and yet expect God not to obey the requirements that He has established and fulfilled at the cost of Jesus’ life.

The investment of God-given resources just begins with salvation. God gives us His Holy Spirit to transform us to be like Jesus. To quench the Spirit, to limit His work in our lives, keeps us from becoming the person God created us to become. Why would we do that? Do we somehow believe the lie that “God is going to get me,” or that “I’m not worthy of salvation,” or “I’ve messed up too many times.”  From where does my false view of God come?

What resources has God entrusted to me that I am currently ignoring and not using?  Why?  What would it look like to begin using those resources?

Leave a Reply

