Questions Jesus Asked #64

Mark 5:9  (see also Luke 8:30) –  Then Jesus asked him, “What is your name?”

      “My name is Legion,” he replied, “for we are many.” NIV

Jesus and the disciples cross the Sea of Galilee to “the region of the Gerasenes.” Jesus moves from being confronted by wild water to being confronted by a wild man that is demon possessed.  From the Biblical description, this was one scary dude; but it is interesting to note that the evil spirits that possessed the man recognized Jesus and said, “What do you want with me, Jesus, Son of the Most High God? Swear to God that you won’t torture me!”

It is then that Jesus asks the spirit for his name. “Legion” was the answer because there were many evil spirits occupying this man’s body. Long story short: Jesus casts the demons into a herd of pigs that rush down a steep bank and are drowned in the lake. The demon possessed man was healed. He got all cleaned up, was in his right mind, and wanted to follow Jesus. The pig farmers and the townspeople were a little freaked out by the whole incident and the loss of their livestock and ask Jesus to get in His boat and leave.

In this world where we feel so much is out of control, it is comforting to know that Jesus has the power over “the forces of nature” and the forces of evil. As His followers are we aligning ourselves with His power by prayer, and are we seeking His power in our lives rather than depending on our own power?

The question also reminds me of a song written By Tommy Walker that is very comforting to me in times of distress and trouble.

“He Knows My Name”

I have a Maker
He formed my heart
Before even time began
My life was in His hands

He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
And hears me when I call

I have a Father
He calls me His own
He’ll never leave me
No matter where I go

He knows my name
He knows my every thought

He sees each tear that falls
And hears me when I call

Here’s a Youtube version of it.

Leave a Reply

