Questions Jesus Asked Question #68

Mark 8:22-23 – They came to Bethsaida, and some people brought a blind man and begged Jesus to touch him. 23 He took the blind man by the hand and led him outside the village. When he had spit on the man’s eyes and put his hands on him, Jesus asked, “Do you see anything?” NIV

To me this is one of the most curious miracles that Jesus performed! He had performed so many miracles simply by speaking a word or touching someone, and here he spits and rubs it in the guy’s eyes, and it wasn’t because He disliked the guy. He healed the guy. God doesn’t always act the way we think He should. In fact, sometimes blessings come from things we at first see as problems. We need to keep trying to see how God is working in the midst of situations.

It is also interesting that this was a “two-step” miracle.  I don’t recall any others. After Jesus had rubbed spit in the man’s eyes, He asked, “Do you see anything?”  From his answer, the blind man said that he could see but not clearly. Jesus put his hands on his eyes again, and this time, he could see perfectly. I have often wondered what this was all about.  Why didn’t Jesus get it right the first time? Perhaps he wanted some acknowledgement before he finished the miracle? 

Jesus desired to interact with the man for whatever reason. He desires to interact with each of us. I think that He sometimes leaves some unfinished business in our lives waiting for us to reply to him.  I find that most times He wants to spend more time with me than I spend with Him.  Sometimes, He wants to clarify some things before He finishes a project in my life.

Some things we need to ask ourselves: What has Jesus started in my life that He is waiting for my response before proceeding? What is my biggest hindrance in spending time with Him? How can I seek ways to better communicate with Him?

Leave a Reply

