Questions Jesus Asked #76

 Mark 12:24 – similar to Question #45 – Matthew 22:31-32 –  Jesus replied, “Are you not in error because you do not know the Scriptures or the power of God?” NIV

This question is similar to the last question because in Matthew’s Gospel (Matt. 22:29). It was recorded as a statement, and Mark records it as a rhetorical question. I did deal with Jesus’ follow-up question #45 (Matt. 22-31-32). But this is a great question for all of us to ask ourselves.

Many times we find ourselves making mistakes or missing opportunities because we do not know what the Scriptures say about something and /or we underestimate the power (and possibly the love) of God. We neglect the guidance given to us in the Scriptures because we are not regularly reading, studying, and meditating on them. Then we expect God to give us some special guidance in our situation when He has already done so in the Bible. Because He is gracious, merciful, and loving; He sometimes gives us that guidance; but I think that as the Holy Spirit, He would rather bring it to our recall from His Word.

When I think of selling God’s power too short, I think of the title to the classic book by J.B. Phllips, Your God Is Too Small.  Many times we try to fight battles in our own power when God would gladly come to our side if we asked.  Why don’t we ask?  It could be for a variety of reasons; but one of those reasons may be that we doubt His power to help in our situation.

How am I getting to know the Scriptures? What is my plan? What are my methods? Is there a change I need to make to better know the Bible? How much time am I willing to set aside to do this? When? Do I need some additional tools or a group of believers to help me?

How can I learn to rely more on the power of God? How do I become more aware of His power?  How am I willing to join Him on His mission to accomplish something I can’t do in my own power? What is that task or mission?

Leave a Reply

